Report No.223/2018 Report of the Environment Strategic Policy Committee



# Breviate of the Environment Strategic Policy Committee Meeting held on 27<sup>th</sup> June 2018

- 1. Minutes of the meeting held 25<sup>th</sup> April 2018. Order: Minutes as amended agreed
- Minutes of the Special meeting held on 24<sup>th</sup> May 2018
  Order: Minutes as amended agreed
- 3. Matters Arising. Order: Noted
- 4. Chairperson's Business None.
- 5. Correspondence None
- 6. River Basin Management Plan for Ireland Gerry O'Connell Order: Presentation Noted
- 7. National Flood Risk Management Plan Gerry O'Connell
  Order: Presentation noted. Recommend the Council that the Plan is adopted
- 8. Waste Bye Laws Presentation Simon Brock & Hugh Coughlan
- (i) Draft Waste Bye Laws and Report Simon Brock
- (ii) Waste Bye Laws Guidance and FAQ's Simon Brock Order: Presentation noted. Recommend to Council that the Bye Laws go to Public Consultation
- 9. Plastics Recycling and Exportation, China Restrictions Hugh Coughlan Order: Report Noted. Eastern and Midland Region Waste Office Annual Report to be discussed at the September meeting.
- 10. Dublin Waste to Energy Update report James Nolan Order: Noted
- 11. Motion referred from the South Central Area Committee "That the employment of area based Traffic Wardens be seen as an essential tool in effective traffic management, particularly in the suburbs, from the level of non payment. I currently see these positions would almost certainly be self financing. In addition we need area based Litter Wardens to ensure all play their part in keeping the area clean" Order: Part of Motion in relation to litter wardens agreed
- 12. A.O.B. Order: Noted

### Attendance:

# Members:

Councillor Claire Byrne Councillor Ciarán Cuffe Councillor Mannix Flynn Cllr. Michael O'Brien Cllr. Ciaran O'Moore Cllr. Naoise O'Muiri (Chairperson) Joe McCarthy, An Taisce Robert Moss

### Officials:

Dick Brady, Assistant Chief Executive Céline Reilly, Executive Manager James Nolan, Senior Executive Officer Eithne Gibbons, Senior Executive Officer Gerry O'Connell, A/Senior Engineer Hugh Coughlan, Administrative Officer Simon Brock, Administrative Officer Ciaran McGoldrick, A/Senior Staff Officer Elaine O'Kelly, A/Staff Officer Ian Boggans, Assistant Staff Officer

### Naoise O'Muiri

Chairperson 28<sup>th</sup> June 2018